



SNS COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY

(An Autonomous Institution) Coimbatore – 35

Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering

STATE TRANSITION MATRIX

INTRODUCTION

We can write the solution of the homogeneous state equation

$$\dot{\mathbf{x}}(t) = \mathbf{A}\mathbf{x}(t)$$
 Laplace transform $s\mathbf{X}(s) - \mathbf{x}(0) = \mathbf{A}\mathbf{X}(s)$

$$(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})\mathbf{X}(s) = \mathbf{x}(0) \longrightarrow \mathbf{X}(s) = (s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}\mathbf{x}(0)$$

The inverse Laplace transform
$$\mathbf{x}(t) = \mathcal{L}^{-1}[(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}]\mathbf{x}(0)$$

Note that
$$(sI - A)^{-1} = \frac{I}{s} + \frac{A}{s^2} + \frac{A^2}{s^3} + \cdots$$

$$\mathcal{L}^{-1}[(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}] = \mathbf{I} + \mathbf{A}t + \frac{\mathbf{A}^2t^2}{2!} + \frac{\mathbf{A}^3t^3}{3!} + \cdots = e^{\mathbf{A}t}$$

INTRODUCTION

Hence, the inverse Laplace transform of $(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}$

$$\mathcal{L}^{-1}[(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}] = \mathbf{I} + \mathbf{A}t + \frac{\mathbf{A}^2t^2}{2!} + \frac{\mathbf{A}^3t^3}{3!} + \cdots = e^{\mathbf{A}t}$$

$$\mathbf{x}(t) = e^{\mathbf{A}t}\mathbf{x}(0)$$

State-Transition Matrix
$$\mathbf{x}(t) = \mathbf{\Phi}(t)\mathbf{x}(0)$$

where $\Phi(t)$ is an $n \times n$ matrix and is the unique solution of

$$\dot{\Phi}(t) = \mathbf{A}\Phi(t), \qquad \Phi(0) = \mathbf{I}$$

Where

$$\Phi(t) = e^{\mathbf{A}t} = \mathcal{L}^{-1}[(s\mathbf{I} - \mathbf{A})^{-1}]$$
 Note that $\Phi^{-1}(t) = e^{-\mathbf{A}t} = \Phi(-t)$

Properties of State Transition Matrix

1.
$$\Phi(0) = e^{\mathbf{A}0} = \mathbf{I}$$

2.
$$\Phi(t) = e^{\mathbf{A}t} = (e^{-\mathbf{A}t})^{-1} = [\Phi(t)]^{-1}$$
 or $\Phi^{-1}(t) = \Phi(t)$

3.
$$\Phi(t_1+t_2)=e^{\mathbf{A}(t_1+t_2)}=e^{\mathbf{A}t_1}e^{\mathbf{A}t_2}=\Phi(t_1)\Phi(t_2)=\Phi(t_2)\Phi(t_1)$$

$$\mathbf{4.} \left[\mathbf{\Phi}(t) \right]^n = \mathbf{\Phi}(nt)$$

5.
$$\Phi(t_2-t_1)\Phi(t_1-t_0)=\Phi(t_2-t_0)=\Phi(t_1-t_0)\Phi(t_2-t_1)$$