

SNS COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY, COIMBATORE –35 (An Autonomous Institution)



DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Assessment of working of the Parliamentary System in India:

A Parliamentary form of Government is one in which the executive becomes a part of the legislature that frames laws and policies and also implements them. It is also known as the Cabinet Government because the executive powers are mainly concentrated in the hands of the Cabinet.

There are three main branches of the Parliamentary system of Government:

- 1. The Legislative.
- 2. The Executive.
- 3. The Judiciary.

The Legislative is the law-making body of the government. It frames laws and policies that are required to run a country smoothly.

The Executive body of the government implements the laws and regulations framed by the legislative body.

The Judiciary ensures justice to the citizens of India based on the framed laws of the country's Constitution.

The functions of these organs, their jurisdiction, limitations, and interrelationship are decided by the Constitution.

The Parliamentary system of Government has a monarch or a president as its head. However, these positions are formal. The Prime Minister who stands out to be the head of the government acts as the real head. Thus, all the executive powers are entrusted to the Prime Minister.

The Parliamentary system of India follows a Bicameral legislature.

The Parliament mainly consists of the President and the two houses of the Parliament-The Lok Sabha (House of the people) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of states).

An electoral college comprising the elected members of both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, the Legislative Assemblies of the states and union territories generally elect the President for a consecutive term of five years unless there is any allegation against him by the Parliament. The Prime Minister is then appointed by the President and also appoints the other



SNS COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY, COIMBATORE –35 (An Autonomous Institution)



DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

members on the advice of the Prime Minister. The other such official members are particularly-

- The Judges of the Supreme and the High Court.
- The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.
- The Attorney-General of India.
- The Chairman and members of the Union Public Service Commission and the Finance Commission.
- The Chief and other election Commissioners.

The Parliamentary system of India follows a Bicameral legislature.

The Lok Sabha:

The Lok Sabha consists of 545 members of which 543 are the people's elected representatives including two nominated members from the Anglo-Indian community by the President of India. It longs for a term of five years contingent on dissolution by the President of India.

The Rajya Sabha:

The Rajya Sabha consists of 245 members of which 233 members represent the different states and the union territories and 12 people nominated by the President of India. The Rajya Sabha is a permanent body of members which cannot be dissolved. One-third of the members may retire voluntarily after the completion of a term of six consecutive years.

Qualifications to be fulfilled for being a member of the Parliament:

- The concerned person must be a citizen of India.
- He/She must attain an age of 25 years given the Lok Sabha whereas the age of 30 years in case of the Rajya Sabha.

The President is entitled to perform the following functions:

Addressing any one house or both the houses of the Parliament.



SNS COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY, COIMBATORE –35 (An Autonomous Institution)



DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Dissolution of the Lok Sabha.

Summoning the joint meeting or sitting of both Houses of Parliament on account of disagreement.

At the very first meeting after the General Elections and the commencement of the first session every year, the President has to address both the houses of the Parliament together and give a briefing regarding the root of its summon. A bill without the assent of the President cannot become an Act. The bill may also be returned to the houses for reconsideration. In the absence of the parliamentary session, if the president is so satisfied that the circumstances that prevail make it important for him to take immediate action he can promulgate Ordinances.

It is characterized by majority party rule which means that the party that wins a majority of the seats during the election of the lower house (the Lok Sabha) usually forms the government. In cases, when none of the parties got majority votes, the President may invite an alliance of parties to set up the government.